The Legacies of Feminism in Germany and India

19.03.2021, Roundtable Discussion, online

The Legacies of Feminism in Germany and India: A Roundtable Discussion

Online event, 19 Mar. 2021, 1 p.m. GMT / 2 p.m. CET / 6:30 p.m. IST

Organized by the Max Weber Stiftung India Branch Office and the International Standing Working Group on Medialization and Empowerment at the German Historical Institute London.

What does feminism mean in different political, social, and historical contexts? How has women’s activism in the past shaped how we think about feminism and women’s rights today? And what does this mean for women’s rights in the current political climate, when right-wing movements and authoritarian tendencies are on the rise? This roundtable will bring together scholars from India, Germany, and the UK to explore the legacies and meanings of feminism in the contemporary world. In particular, the panel will examine how feminist activism has intersected with other rights-based movements and issues, including decolonization, race and ethnicity, labour, and LGBTQ.

Discussants:

Helma Lutz, Goethe Universität Frankfurt

Janaki Nair, Jawaharlal Nehru University

Samita Sen, University of Cambridge

Paula-Irene Villa, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

Moderator: Jane Freeland, GHI London