The Board of Trustees consists of eleven Members appointed for a tenure of four years by the Federal Ministry of Education and Reseach. In accordance with the amended Max Weber Law a further four Members may be appointed by the German Research Foundation, and one further Member by each of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, the Max Planck Society and the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Scientific Community. The Stifterverband für die deutsche Wissenschaft (Benefactors’ Association for German Science and Humanities)appoints a Member with a relevant humanities background. Meetings of the Board of Trustees may be attended by two Members each from the Assembly of Directors and the Committee of Advisory Council Chairs, the Executive Director and the respective staff representatives as permanent observers with proposing and speaking rights. Current members are: