When the German Forum for Art History was established in Paris in 1997/2006, a long-standing commitment to art history research was established, and the institutional framework for the academic analysis of French art and its worldwide reception was created. It was established in order to focus on German-speaking research in French art history, as well as promoting the interest of the French humanities in art
in Germany and German-language art history. Today the German Center
for Art History has developed into a place of lively professional
exchange and international debate.

German Forum for Art History Paris

Hôtel Lully
45, rue des Petits Champs
75001 Paris
France
Tel. +33 142 606 782
Fax +33 142 606 783

sekretariat(at)dt-forum.org

The German Forum for Art History in Paris was founded in 1997, to give German research on France and French research on Germany an institutional framework and to promote young international art historians. Following a positive evaluation by the Academic Council the Forum was incorporated into the Max Weber Foundation on 1 July 2006. The DFK is located close by French colleagues at the Institut national d’histoire de l’art and the old Bibliothèque Nationale de France.

The Forum grants annual scholarships on selected themes. Further long-term research projects are carried out through the DFK, such as the study of German-French art relations since 1800.

Founded: 1997

Positions: 35 (average number according to recorded information, including project staff)

Areas of Research:
German and French art, Art Theory and Aesthetics, German-French Art Relations in the International Context

Service:
Library: approx. 80,000 media items and 193 subscribed periodicals.

The library of the German Forum for Art History is a partner to the libraries of the art history institutes (which are independent of the German universities) and which form “kubikat” (www.kubikat.org), a catalogue project (Kunsthistorisches Institut Florenz, Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte München, Bibliotheca Hertziana Rom) and is also a member of the BibliotheksVerbund Bayern (BVB – Bavarian Association of Libraries).

Promotion of Young Academics:
Thematically oriented one-year scholarships for PhD students, research grants, student scholarships, internships, study courses, excursions, French courses for art historians, Spring and Summer Academies

Publications:
- Passagen/Passages
- Passerelles (German/French)
- monographs
- cooperation projects
- co-editor of the periodical Historie de l‘Art

Online Publications:
- Passages Online
- co-editor of the online periodical Regards Croisés
- co-editor of RIHA Journal
- Partner of Trivium

Events:
Ateliers de Lecture, workshops, international conferences and colloquiums, public lectures

Academic Advisory Council

Die Gründung des Deutschen Forums für Kunstgeschichte (DFK) Paris 1997/2006 erfüllte ein langjähriges Desiderat der kunsthistorischen Forschung und ermöglichte es, der wissenschaftlichen Auseinandersetzung mit der französischen Kunst sowie ihrer weltweiten Rezeption einen institutionellen Rahmen zu geben. Das Institut wurde eingerichtet, um die deutschsprachige Frankreichforschung auf dem Gebiet der Kunstgeschichte zu konzentrieren und zugleich das Interesse der französischen Geisteswissenschaften an der Kunst in Deutschland und der
deutschsprachigen Kunstgeschichte zu befördern. Heute hat es
sich zu einem Ort des lebendigen internationalen fachlichen 
Austauschs entwickelt.

Deutsches Forum für Kunstgeschichte Paris

Hôtel Lully
45, rue des Petits Champs
75001 Paris
Frankreich
Tel. +33 142 606 782
Fax +33 142 606 783

sekretariat(at)dfk-paris.org

Das DFK Paris wurde 1997 eingerichtet, um der deutschen Frankreichforschung und der französischen Deutschlandforschung einen institutionellen Rahmen zu geben und den internationalen kunstwissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs zu fördern. Nach einer positiven Evaluation durch den Wissenschaftsrat wurde das Forum am 1. Juli 2006 in die Max Weber Stiftung aufgenommen. Das DFK ist in unmittelbarer Nähe der französischen Kollegen des Institut national d’histoire de l’art und der alten Bibliothèque Nationale de France untergebracht.

Das Forum vergibt Jahresstipendien zu ausgewählten Themenschwerpunkten. Ferner sind längerfristige Forschungsprojekte am DFK angesiedelt, wie etwa die Erforschung der deutsch-französischen Kunstbeziehungen seit 1800.

Gegründet: 1997

Stellen: 35 (durchschnittliche Zahl nach eigenen Angaben inkl. Projektmitarbeiter)

Forschungsgebiete:
Deutsche und französische Kunst, Kunsttheorie und Ästhetik, deutsch-französische Kunstbeziehungen im internationalen Kontext

Service:
Bibliothek: ca. 80.000 Medieneinheiten und 193 lfd. Zeitschriften.

Die Bibliothek des DFK Paris ist Partner der im Kunstbibliotheken-Fachverbund kubikat (www.kubikat.org) zusammengeschlossenen Bibliotheken der deutschen universitätsunabhängigen kunsthistorischen Forschungsinstitute (Kunsthistorisches Institut Florenz, Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte München, Bibliotheca Hertziana Rom) sowie Mitglied im BibliotheksVerbund Bayern (BVB).

Nachwuchsförderung:
Thematisch orientierte Jahresstipendien für Promovierende sowie Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden, Forschungsstipendien, Stipendien für Studierende, Praktikantenprogramm, Studienkurse, Exkursionen, Französischkurse für Kunsthistorikerinnen und Kunsthistoriker, Frühjahrs- und Sommerakademien

Publikationen:
- Passagen/Passages, Passerelles (deutsch/französisch)
- Monographien
- Kooperationsprojekte
- Mitherausgeber der Zeitschrift Historie de l‘Art

Online-Publikationen:
- Passages Online
- Mitherausgeber der Zeitschrift Regards Croisés
- Mitherausgeber des RIHA Journal, Partner von Trivium

Veranstaltungen:
Ateliers de Lecture, Workshops, Internationale Tagungen und Kolloquien, Öffentliche Vorträge

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat