Developed by the joint initiative of German and British historians, the German Historical Institute London has been an integral part of the bilateral academic community for nearly four decades. Located in one of London’s typical town houses on Bloomsbury Square, it has become a point of reference for researchers from around the world. Having been the capital of the former British Empire, the metropolis is ideally placed to maintain a cross-border academic culture. Starting in 2013 the German Historical Institute London has established a Transnational Research Group in New Delhi together with British, German and Indian partners. Together with the London School of Economics it also hosts a visiting professorship funded by the Gerda Henkel Foundation.

German Historical Institute London

17 Bloomsbury Square
London WC1A 2NJ
United Kingdom
Tel. +44 207 309 205 0
Fax +44 207 309 205 5


ghil(at)ghil.ac.uk

The institute is a centre of research for German and British academics and students. It organises international conferences, seminars and postgraduate workshops and annually awards a prize for outstanding theses as well as numerous scholarships and internships.

The publications of the DHI London – theses, dissertations, professorial treatises, conference volumes as well as the Edition British Envoys to Germany – are published by Oxford or Cambridge University Press and Oldenbourg Press. The extensive library and periodicals room ("Common Room") offer an important starting point for historians from across the globe.

Founded: 1976 (formerly "Verein zur Förderung des Britisch-Deutschen Historikerkreises e.V. - Association to Promote the Anglo-German Historian Circle")

Positions: 27 (average number according to recorded information, including project staff)

Areas of Research:
British History from the Early Middle Ages up to and including contemporary history, History of the British Empire and Commonwealth, History of German-British Relations

Service:
Library: approx. 86,000 media items on German History and the History of the Anglo-German relations

In memory of the former director of the German Historical Institute London, the institute annually awards the "Wolfgang J. Mommsen Prize" to the author of an outstanding piece of German research on British History. The prize covers the cost of translating the work into English and publishing it in the institute’s series: "Studies in British and Imperial History".

Promotion of Young Academics:
Internships and research scholarships for young academics, PhD students and postdoctoral students, annual PhD conference for British doctoral candidates researching German or German-British history, annual week-long summer school for on British history, award for outstanding dissertations in the field of German, British and German-British history, internship programme, Junior Research Fellowship with the Institute of Advanced Studies at University College London

Publications:
- British Envoys to Germany
- Studies in British and Imperial History
- Studies of the German Historical Institute London
- Veröffentlichungen des Deutschen Historischen Instituts London/Publications of the German Historical Institute London
- German Historical Institute London Bulletin
- Annual Lectures

Events:
Seminars and lectures, conferences and workshops, Annual Lecture, colloquium for scholarship holders and exhibitions, GHIL Debates about current academic and academic policy issues, Lectures on Contemporary German History in collaboration with the German Embassy in London, cooperation with the Institute of Historical Research and the History Faculty Oxford

Academic Advisory Council

Hervorgegangen aus einer gemeinsamen Initiative deutscher und britischer Historikerinnen und Historiker ist das Deutsche Historische Institut (DHI) London seit fast vier Jahrzehnten Bestandteil der bilateralen Wissenschaftslandschaft. In einem der typischen Londoner Stadthäuser am Bloomsbury Square gelegen, ist es zum gefragten Anlaufpunkt für Forschende aus aller Welt geworden. Als Zentrum des ehemaligen British Empire ist die Metropole idealer Standort einer transnationalen Wissenschaftskultur. So betreut das DHI London seit 2013 gemeinsam mit britischen, deutschen und indischen Kooperationspartnern die erste Transnationale Forschungsgruppe der Max Weber Stiftung in Neu-Delhi. Gemeinsam mit der London School of Economics unterhält es eine von der Gerda Henkel Stiftung finanzierte Gastprofessur.

Deutsches Historisches Institut London

17 Bloomsbury Square
London WC1A 2NJ
Großbritannien
Tel. +44 207 309 205 0
Fax +44 207 309 205 5

ghil(at)ghil.ac.uk

Das Institut ist ein Forschungszentrum für deutsche und britische Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sowie  Studierende. Es organisiert internationale Konferenzen, Seminare und Doktoranden-Workshops und vergibt jährlich einen Preis für herausragende Dissertationen sowie zahlreiche Stipendien und Praktika.

Die Veröffentlichungen des DHI London – Dissertationen, Habilitationen, Konferenzbände sowie die Edition British Envoys to Germany – erscheinen bei Oxford bzw. Cambridge University Press und im Oldenbourg Verlag. Die umfangreiche Bibliothek und der Zeitschriftenraum bieten eine wichtige Anlaufstelle für Historikerinnen und Historiker aus aller Welt.

Gegründet: 1976 (vormals "Verein zur Förderung des Britisch-Deutschen Historikerkreises e.V.")

Stellen: 27 (durchschnittliche Zahl nach eigenen Angaben inkl. Projektmitarbeiter)

Forschungsgebiete:
Britische Geschichte vom frühen Mittelalter bis zur jüngsten Zeitgeschichte, Geschichte des British Empire und Commonwealth, Geschichte der deutsch-britischen Beziehungen

Service:
Bibliothek: ca. 86.000 Bände zur deutschen Geschichte und der Geschichte des deutsch-britischen Verhältnisses. 

In Gedenken an seinen früheren Direktor verleiht das DHI London jährlich den „Wolfgang J. Mommsen Preis“ an Autorinnen und Autoren herausragender deutscher Forschungsarbeiten zur britischen Geschichte. Der Preis beinhaltet die Übernahme der Übersetzungskosten des Manuskripts ins Englische und die Publikation in der Instituts-Reihe „Studies in British and Imperial History“

Nachwuchsförderung:
Forschungsstipendien für Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler, Promovierende sowie Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden, jährliche PhD-Konferenz für britische Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, die zu deutscher oder deutsch-britischer Geschichte forschen, jährliche einwöchige Summer School zur britischen Geschichte, Preis des DHI London für herausragende Dissertationen im Bereich deutscher, britischer und deutsch-britischer Geschichte, Praktikantenprogramm, Junior Research Fellowship mit dem Institute of Advanced Studies am University College London

Publikationen:
- British Envoys to Germany
- Studies in British and Imperial History
- Studies of the German Historical Institute London
- Veröffentlichungen des Deutschen Historischen Instituts London/Publications of the German Historical Institute London
- German Historical Institute London Bulletin
- Annual Lectures

Veranstaltungen:
Vorträge und Seminare, Konferenzen und Workshops, Annual Lecture, Stipendiatenkolloquium und Ausstellungen, GHIL Debates zu aktuellen wissenschaftlichen und wissenschaftspolitischen Debatten, Lectures on Contemporary German History in Zusammenarbeit mit der deutschen Botschaft in London, Kooperation mit dem Institute of Historical Research und der History Faculty Oxford

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat