Being the first German Historical Institute to be established after the fall of the iron curtain, the foundation of the German Historical Institute Warsaw took full account of the significance of the German-Polish relationship. Since 1993 the institute has been promoting communication, cooperation and the transfer of historical research between Germany and Poland, and supporting historical discourse on a national and international level. In 2002 the institute moved into a listed town house, a rare example of a Warsaw building that was able to survive World War II undamaged.

German Historical Institute Warsaw

Palac Karnickich
Aleje Ujazdowskie 39
00-540 Warsaw
Poland
Tel. +48 225 258 300
Fax +48 225 258 337

dhi(at)dhi.waw.pl

After 1989 the opportunity arose to found a DHI in eastern Europe. Poland was chosen as a country with which Germany has had centuries of close but also particularly difficult relations.

The task of the DHI in Warsaw is to study the History of Poland, German-Polish Relations, issues of Comparative History of Poland and Germany as well as Historiography. Also Jewish History, an integral component of the history of both nations, represents an area of research for the institute. It publishes study conclusions, source editions as well as historical studies in German and in Polish translation. Furthermore the DHI organises diverse academic events and promotes young academic scholars through scholarships and colloquia. The institute also distributes information and mediates academic contacts.

Founded: 1993 

Positions: 34 employees including third-party funds (as of December 2016)

Areas of Research:
History of Poland and German-Polish Relations in a European and International Context, covering all periods and a wide range of subjects

Service:
Library: Current inventory of 85,371 media items, including 297 subscribed periodicals.

The library is open to academic staff, guest researchers and scholarship holders at the institute as well as external users. The library of the German Historical Institute Warsaw is an academic specialist library. Its collection focuses on the history of Germany and Poland, the history of German-Polish relations in a European and international context and the history of the Eastern European Jews. General literature covering history, humanities and the social sciences rounds off the acquisition profile of the institute.

Promotion of Young Academics:
Scholarships, internships

Publications:
- Individual publications of the German Historical Institute Warsaw
- Deutsches Historisches Instituts Warschau
- Quellen und Studien (Sources and Studies)
- Klio in Polen
- Klio w Niemczech
- Lelewel-Talks (online)
- Monographien
- Newsletter
- Annual Report

Events:
Lectures, colloquia, Lelewel-Talks, conferences, book presentations

Academic Advisory Council

Die Gründung des Deutschen Historischen Instituts (DHI) Warschau im Jahre 1993 war die erste Neugründung eines deutschen historischen Auslandsinstituts nach dem Fall des "Eisernen Vorhangs". Dies trug der besonderen Bedeutung der Beziehungen zwischen Polen und Deutschland Rechnung. Das Institut fördert die Kommunikation, Kooperation und den Forschungstransfer zwischen der deutschen und der polnischen Geschichtswissenschaft und unterstützt den geschichtswissenschaftlichen Diskurs auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene. Das Institut ist seit 2002 in einem denkmalgeschützten Stadtpalais untergebracht, einem seltenen Beispiel für ein Warschauer Gebäude, das den Zweiten Weltkrieg unbeschadet überstanden hat.

Deutsches Historisches Institut Warschau

Palac Karnickich
Aleje Ujazdowskie 39
00-540 Warschau
Polen
Tel. +48 225 258 300
Fax +48 225 258 337

dhi(at)dhi.waw.pl

Nach 1989 eröffnete sich die Chance, auch in Ostmitteleuropa ein DHI zu gründen. Mit Polen wurde ein Land gewählt, zu dem Deutschland seit Jahrhunderten engste, aber auch besonders schwierige Beziehungen unterhalten hatte.

Aufgabe des DHI Warschau ist es, die Geschichte Polens, die deutsch-polnischen Beziehungen, Fragen der vergleichenden Geschichte Polens und Deutschlands sowie der Historiographie zu erforschen. Auch die jüdische Geschichte, die integraler Bestandteil der Geschichte beider Nationen ist, stellt ein Arbeitsgebiet des Instituts dar. Es veröffentlicht Forschungsergebnisse, Quelleneditionen sowie historische Studien in deutscher bzw. polnischer Übersetzung. Darüber hinaus organisiert das DHI vielfältige wissenschaftliche Veranstaltungen und fördert den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs durch Stipendien und Kolloquien. Zu den Tätigkeitsfeldern des Instituts gehören ebenfalls die Erteilung von Auskünften und die Vermittlung wissenschaftlicher Kontakte.

Gegründet: 1993

Stellen: 34 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter inkl. Drittmittelstellen (Stand: Dezember 2016) 

Forschungsgebiete:
Geschichte Polens und Ostmitteleuropas sowie der deutsch-polnischen Beziehungen im europäischen und internationalen Kontext in ihrer gesamten chronologischen Tiefe und thematischen Breite

Service:
Bibliothek: Gegenwärtig umfasst der Bestand 85.371 Medieneinheiten. Dazu zählen 297 laufend gehaltene Zeitschriften.

Die Bibliothek steht nicht nur den wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und Gastwissenschaftlern und Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten des Instituts offen, sondern auch externen Nutzern. Die Bibliothek des DHI Warschau ist eine wissenschaftliche Spezialbibliothek. Ihr Sammelspektrum umfasst die Geschichte Deutschlands und Polens, die deutsch-polnische Beziehungsgeschichte im europäischen und internationalen Kontext und die Geschichte der osteuropäischen Juden. Allgemeine geschichtswissenschaftliche sowie geistes- und sozialwissenschaftliche Literatur rundet das Erwerbungsprofil ab.

Nachwuchsförderung:
Stipendien, Praktikantenprogramm

Publikationen:
- Einzelveröffentlichungen des Deutschen Historischen Instituts Warschau
- Quellen und Studien
- Klio in Polen
- Klio w Niemczech
- Lelewel-Gespräche (online)
- Monographien
- Newsletter
- Jahresbericht

Veranstaltungen:
Vorträge, Kolloquien, Lelewel-Gespräche, Tagungen, Buchpräsentationen

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat