Founded in 1987, the German Historical Institute in Washington DC is the largest non-university-affiliated institute for history in the United States. The institute promotes transatlantic cooperation in historical research and related disciplines and is one of the most important organizations connecting scholars in Germany and the United States. In addition to providing numerous fellowships and programs for junior academics from both sides of the Atlantic, the institute also offers three German-American binational tandem fellowships from the postdoctoral to the full professoral level each year. The institute awards several prizes, such as the Fritz Stern Dissertation Prize for the best North American dissertation in German History and the Franz Steiner Prize for excellent contribution to Transatlantic History. In 2017 the German Historical Institute Washington DC opened its branch office GHI West at the University of California, Berkeley.

German Historical Institute Washington D.C.

1607 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington DC 20009-2562
USA
Tel. +1 202 387 335 5
Fax +1 202 483 343 0

info(at)ghi-dc.org

The German Historical Institute in Washington, D.C. promotes transatlantic cooperation in historical studies and related disciplines.

Each year it organizes numerous academic conferences and lecture events for a broader audience. The DHI awards thesis and postgraduate scholarships and publishes monographs and collected volumes with American and German publishing houses.

It awards the Franz Steiner Prize for Transatlantic History as well as the Fritz Stern Prize for outstanding American theses on German History.

Founded: 1987

Positions: 32 (average number according to recorded information, including project staff)

Areas of Research:
German History, North American History, Transnational and Global History, Digital History;
Profile-defining research focuses: History of Knowledge and History of Migration; especially 19th and 20th century

Service:
Library: approx. 50,000 items, more than 220 subscribed journals.

Web-based Resources:
"German History in Documents and Images” (www.germanhistorydocs.ghi-dc.org) provides annotated text and image sources about German history from 1500 to the present in German and English.
"Immigrant Entrepreneurship: German-American Business Biographies, 1720 to the Present” (www.immigrantentrepreneurship.org) offers biographical case studies, general overviews and sources on the subject of German-American immigrant entrepreneurs. 

Promotion of Young Academics:
General doctoral and postdoctoral fellowships; thematic fellowships (up to one year), including: Fellowship in the History of Knowledge, Fellowship in the History of Migration (Focus: Migrant Knowledge), Fellowship in the History of Race and Ethnicity, Fellowship in the History of Religion and Religiosity, Fellowship in the History of Family and Kinship, Fellowship in North American History; Gerda Henkel Postdoctoral Fellowship for Digital History; Gerald D. Feldman Travel Grants; GHI Fellowships at the Horner Library; Internship Program; Archival Summer Seminar; Transatlantic Doctoral Seminar in German History; Workshop in Early Modern German History (with GHI London); Medieval History Seminar (with DHI London); Post-Doctoral Fellowships in the Humanities at Universities and Research Institutes in the U.S. and Germany (in cooperation with Volkswagen Foundation).

Publications:
- Publications of the German Historical Institute (Cambridge UP)
- Studies in German History (Berghahn Books)
- Transatlantische Historische Studien (Steiner Verlag)
- Worlds of Consumption (Palgrave Macmillan)
- Bulletin of the German Historical Institute
- Bulletin Supplements
- Reference Guides

Events:
Academic conferences, lecture events, such as the Lecture Series, Annual Lecture, Gerald D. Feldman Memorial Lecture, German Unification Symposium, Award of the Fritz Stern Dissertation Prize

Branch Office GHI West:
The declared goal of GHI West is to enable an intensified dialogue between German historians and their colleagues on the North American west coast. In addition, an interdisciplinary and international research network is going to be established at GHI West, which will work at the intersection between the history of migration and knowledge.

Academic Advisory Council

Das 1987 gegründete Deutsche Historische Institut (DHI) Washington, D. C., ist das größte außeruniversitäre Institut im Bereich der Geschichtswissenschaften in den USA und eine der wichtigsten wissenschaftlichen Mittlerorganisationen zwischen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und den Vereinigten Staaten. Es fördert die transatlantische Zusammenarbeit in der historischen Forschung und in benachbarten Disziplinen. Neben verschiedenen Stipendien für Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler beiderseits des Atlantiks werden jährlich für alle Qualifikationsstufen nach der Promotion drei deutsch-amerikanische Tandems gefördert. Für herausragende nordamerikanische Dissertationen zur deutschen Geschichte verleiht das Institut den Fritz- Stern-Preis und für ausgezeichnete Arbeiten zur transatlantischen Geschichte den Franz-Steiner-Preis. Seit 2017 hat das DHI Washington, D. C., zudem die Außenstelle GHI West an der University of California, Berkeley. 

Deutsches Historisches Institut Washington D.C.

1607 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington DC 20009-2562
USA
Tel. +1 202 387 335 5
Fax +1 202 483 343 0

info(at)ghi-dc.org

Das Deutsche Historische Institut Washington, D. C., fördert die transatlantische Zusammenarbeit in der Geschichtswissenschaft und benachbarten Disziplinen.

Jedes Jahr organisiert es zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Konferenzen und Vortragsveranstaltungen für eine breitere Öffentlichkeit. Das DHI vergibt Dissertations- und Postdoc-Stipendien und veröffentlicht Monographien und Sammelbände in amerikanischen und deutschen Verlagen.

Es verleiht den Franz-Steiner-Preis für transatlantische Geschichte sowie den Fritz-Stern-Preis für herausragende amerikanische Dissertationen zur deutschen Geschichte.

Gegründet: 1987

Stellen: 32 (durchschnittliche Zahl nach eigenen Angaben inkl. Projektmitarbeiter)

Forschungsgebiete:
Deutsche Geschichte, Nordamerikanische Geschichte, Transnationale und Globalgeschichte, Digital History;
Profilbildende Forschungsschwerpunkte: Wissens- und Migrationsgeschichte; insbesondere 19. und 20. Jahrhundert

Service:
Bibliothek: ca. 50.000 Medieneinheiten, mehr als 220 lfd. Zeitschriften.

Wissenschaftliche Angebote im Internet:
„German History in Documents and Images" (http://germanhistorydocs.ghi-dc.org/) enthält kommentierte Text- und Bildquellen zur deutschen Geschichte von 1500 bis in die Gegenwart in Deutsch und Englisch.
„Immigrant Entrepreneurship: German-American Business Biographies, 1720 to the Present" (https://www.immigrantentrepreneurship.org/) macht biographische Fallstudien, Überblicksdarstellungen und Quellen zum Thema deutschamerikanischer Einwandererunternehmer verfügbar.

Nachwuchsförderung:
Allgemeine Fellowships für Promovierende sowie Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden in der deutschen und nordamerikanischen Geschichte; thematisch ausgerichtete Tandemprogramme und Stipendien (bis zu einem Jahr), u. a. für Wissensgeschichte, Transnationale/Transregionale Geschichte, Migrationsgeschichte (Fokus: Migrantenwissen), Race und Ethnizität, Geschichte von Religion und Religiosität, Geschichte von Familie und Verwandtschaft, und nordamerikanische Geschichte; Gerda Henkel Fellowship zur digitalen Geschichtswissenschaft; Horner Library Fellowship; Gerald D. Feldman Reisestipendien; Praktikantenprogramm; Archival Summer Seminar; Transatlantic Doctoral Seminar in German History; Workshop in Early Modern German History (mit dem DHI London); Medieval History Seminar (mit dem DHI London); Postdoctoral Fellowships in den Geisteswissenschaften an Universitäten in Deutschland und USA (in Kooperation mit der der VW Stiftung)

Publikationen:
- Publications of the German Historical Institute (Cambridge UP)
- Studies in German History (Berghahn Books)
- Transatlantische Historische Studien (Steiner Verlag)
- Worlds of Consumption (Palgrave Macmillan)
- Bulletin of the German Historical Institute
- Bulletin Supplements
- Reference Guides

Veranstaltungen:
Wissenschaftliche Konferenzen, Vortragsveranstaltungen, u. a. Lecture Series, Annual Lecture, Gerald D. Feldman Memorial Lecture, German Unification Symposium, Verleihung des Fritz Stern Dissertations-Preises

Außenstelle GHI West:
GHI West soll einerseits dazu dienen den Dialog zwischen deutschen Historikerinnen und Historikern sowie ihren Kolleginnen und Kollegen an der forschungsstarken nordamerikanischen Westküste zu intensivieren. Zudem soll an der Außenstelle des DHI Washington ein interdisziplinäres und internationales Forschungsnetzwerk entstehen, das am Schnittpunkt zwischen Migrations- und Wissensgeschichte arbeiten wird.

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat