In light of the sustained cross-border migration and as an ambitious, economically booming regional power in a key part of the world at the continental juncture of the orient and occident, Turkey is of increasing significance to Germany, Europe and therest of the world. This is why in 2009 the Orient-Institut Istanbul– which had since 1987 merely been an extension of the Orient-Institut Beirut – became an independent institute of the MaxWeber Foundation. It operates in a dynamic, Turkish and internationallyprestigious academic environment and ensures thatacademic institutions and experts in Istanbul and the surroundingregion connect and cooperate with each other. The diversityof disciplines and conceptual interests in specialist fields enablea variety of links in the region and constitute the high calibre ofthe research institute.

Oriental Institute Istanbul

Susam Sokak 16-18, D. 8
34433 Cihangir – Istanbul
Turkey
Tel. +90 212 293 606 7 / 252 198 3
Fax +90 212 249 635 9

oiist(at)oidmg.org

The Oriental Institute in Istanbul was set up in 1987 by the German Oriental Society (DMG) as a sub-section of the OI Beirut. After a positive evaluation by the Academic Council is was incorporated into the institutional support structure of the Max Weber Foundation on 1 January 2009. The institute places particular focus on cooperation with academics in the region and a critical exchange.

In addition to the traditional historical and philological perspectives increasing attention is given to approaches from neighbouring studies such as social anthropology, political sciences, sociology and linguistics.

Founded: 2009

Positions: 16 (average number according to recorded information, including project staff)

Areas of Research: 
History and Cultures of the Ottoman Empire and its successor states; Turkey’s History, Cultures and Present; History of Music and Musical Anthropolgy; Ottoman and Turkish Literature; Turkic Linguistics; History and Cultures of the Iranian Cultural Area, Caucasia and Central Asia; Social Sciences

Service:
Library: approx. 43,000 media items and about 140 subscribed periodicals.

Support for scholars from Germany in obtaining facsimiles of manuscripts from libraries and archives

Promotion of Young Academics:
Scholarships for PhD students as well as post-docs; internships, regular PhD colloquiums

Publications:
- Istanbul Texts und Studies (ITS)
- Pera-Papers
- Orient Institutes Studies (OIS)
- Memoria. Fontes minores ad Historiam Imperii Ottomanici pertinentes
- Newsletter

Events:
Regular thematic lecture series, workshops, colloquiums, conferences, Wednesday Lectures, Thyssen lectures on WWI (2013 – 2018)

Academic Advisory Council

Das Orient-Institut (OI) Istanbul, das von 1987 bis 2009 als Nebenstelle des Orient-Instituts Beirut arbeitete, wurde auf Empfehlung des Wissenschaftsrats 2009 als nunmehr eigenständiges Institut in die Max Weber Stiftung aufgenommen. Diese Entscheidung spiegelt die gewachsene Bedeutung der Türkei und des Wissenschaftsstandortes Istanbul mit seinem großen Reichtum an historischen Archiven, Sammlungen und Bibliotheken als einstige Hauptstadt des Osmanischen Reichs wider. Das Institut agiert in Istanbul in einer dynamischen, hochkarätig besetzten Wissenschaftslandschaft und kooperiert als international ausgerichtetes Forschungsinstitut mit akademischen Institutionen, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern in der Türkei, Deutschland und Europa sowie in West und Zentralasien und weit darüber hinaus. Die Pluralität der am Institut vertretenen Disziplinen ermöglicht vielfältige Anknüpfungsmöglichkeiten in der Region und ist für das Profil des Instituts konstitutiv.

Orient-Institut Istanbul

Susam Sokak 16-18, D. 8
34433 Cihangir – Istanbul
Türkei
Tel. +90 212 293 606 7 / 252 198 3
Fax +90 212 249 635 9

oiist(at)oidmg.org

Das Orient-Institut in Istanbul wurde 1987 von der Deutschen Morgenländischen Gesellschaft (DMG) als Abteilung des OI Beirut eingerichtet. Nach einer positiven Evaluierung durch den Wissenschaftsrat wurde es zum 1. Januar 2009 als selbständiges Institut in die institutionelle Förderung der Max Weber Stiftung übernommen. Das Institut fördert besonders die Zusammenarbeit mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern vor Ort und sucht den kritischen Austausch.

Neben der traditionellen historischen und philologischen Perspektive werden verstärkt Ansätze aus benachbarten Wissenschaften wie Sozialanthropologie, Politikwissenschaften, Soziologie und Linguistik aufgegriffen.

Gegründet: 2009

Stellen: 16 (durchschnittliche Zahl nach eigenen Angaben inkl. Projektmitarbeiter)

Forschungsgebiete:
Geschichte und Kulturen des Osmanischen Reichs und seiner Nachfolgestaaten; Geschichte, Kulturen und Gegenwart der Türkei; Musikgeschichte und Musikethnologie; osmanische und türkische Literatur; sprachwissenschaftliche Turkologie; Geschichte, Sprachen und Kulturen des iranischen Kulturraums, Kaukasiens und Mittelasiens; Sozialwissenschaften

Service:
Bibliothek: ca. 43.000 Medieneinheiten und ca. 140 lfd. Zeitschriften. 

Unterstützung bei der Beschaffung von Handschriften aus Bibliotheken und Archiven für Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Deutschland

Nachwuchsförderung:
Stipendien für Promovierende sowie Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden, Praktikantenprogramm, regelmäßige Doktorandenkolloquien 

Publikationen:
- Istanbuler Texte und Studien (ITS)
- Pera-Blätter
- Orient Institute Studies (OIS)
- Memoria. Fontes minores ad Historiam Imperii Ottomanici pertinentes
- Newsletter

Veranstaltungen:
Regelmäßige Vortragsreihen zu Schwerpunktthemen, Workshops, Kolloquien, Konferenzen, Mittwochsvorträge, Thyssen Vorlesungen zum Ersten Weltkrieg (2013 – 2018)

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat