The Max Weber Foundation and its Institutes: Humanities around the Globe

Who we are

The Max Weber Foundation is one of the leading agencies supporting German research in the humanities abroad. Around the world it finances ten scientifically autonomous institutes, which provide a bridge function between the host nations and Germany and which play an important role in the international science scene. Being a multi-polar network, the institutes collaborate in the promotion of the internationalisation of science.

Our history reaches back to the year 1888 when the "Preußische Historische Station in Rom", today known as DHI Rome, was established. The DHI Paris, the OI Beirut, the DHI London, the DHI Washington, the DIJ Tokyo and the DHI Warsaw were founded one after another after WWII. In 2002 these were combined in a foundation which then continued opening further institutes: the DHI Moscow, the DFK Paris and the OI Istanbul. From the 1st July 2012, the Foundation was named after Max Weber, who exemplifies in the Scientific Community around the world an approach reaching beyond cultures and eras as well as the limitations of subject areas and disciplines.

The institutes each have their own research focus, every one of which is essentially influenced by its director and its staff and which includes scientific long-term projects. For their leadership, the Max Weber Foundation nominates established scientists, normally professors from German universities, for limited periods. The institutes closely collaborate with their scientific advisory councils, which consult the leadership, the scientists at the institutes and the Foundation Board of the Max Weber Foundation. The decision-making body is the foundation board, comprising the president, eight other nominated scientists and two representatives of the Federal Republic of Germany.

 

What we regard as important

Research and scientific exchange

Fundamental research, time-limited project research and individual research are carried out at our institutes. With the focus on the humanities and social sciences, our institutes offer scientists many opportunities to develop their own questions in an international and interdisciplinary environment and to carry out their own research. The institutes carry out their research in close and intensive exchange with the scientific cultures of their host countries; they act as an intermediary between the German research environment and the foreign country and at the same time they perform there a representative function. Being exchange forums outside the university system and intended for the long-term for international science, our institutes enable research to be carried out which is not possible within Germany. They open up access to local sources and data collections and help to make these more accessible and to secure them for trans-border research.

Young researchers

We regard the support of young researchers as very important. The Max Weber Foundation offers a wide spectrum of support options. In addition to fixed-term and unlimited employment, it offers a range of grant programmes, work experience as well as forms of scientific exchange such as summer schools and seminars. Over 300 undergraduate students, PhD students and post-docs benefit from the unique facilities at our sites every year. Spending time at an institute abroad offers young scientists special qualifications for their careers, both in the world of academia and outside of research activities.

Research infrastructure

The scientists working at our institutes and many foreign and German visitors find excellent conditions for their research there. Besides administrative and legal support, this particularly includes the especially well-equipped workplaces and institute libraries, which provide source material and international specialist literature. The institutes play an important role in international research communication by organising meetings, workshops and seminars. For the publication of their research, the institutes publish their own magazines and book series, and increasingly they publish their research online. To do this, the publication platform perspectivia.net has been provided by the Foundation. The presence in social media and integration in various disciplinary and institutional networks give the research activities within the Foundation wide accessibility and publicity. As a publicly financed research institution, we are obliged to observe the principles of open access.

 

A future built on traditions

The Max Weber Foundation intends to strengthen the special role of its institutes for international research in the following areas in particular:

• Support and execution of innovative (fundamental) research; 

• Exchange and development of new methodological inquiries;

• Digitalisation of sources and data stores for the humanities and the development of methods for their interpretation; 

• Networking of the different science cultures;

• Involvement in globalisation initiatives for international research.

Die Max Weber Stiftung und ihre Institute: Orte weltweiter Wissenschaft

Wer wir sind

Die Max Weber Stiftung (MWS) zählt zu den maßgeblichen Trägern deutscher geisteswissenschaftlicher Forschung im Ausland. Sie unterhält weltweit elf wissenschaftlich autonome Institute, die eine Brückenfunktion zwischen den Gastländern und Deutschland einnehmen und eine wichtige Rolle in der internationalen Wissenschaftslandschaft spielen. Als multipolares Netzwerk treiben die Institute die Internationalisierung der Wissenschaft gemeinsam voran.

Unsere Geschichte reicht bis in das Jahr 1888 zurück, als die Preußische Historische Station in Rom, das heutige Deutsche Historische Institut in Rom (DHI Rom), eingerichtet wurde. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wurden nacheinander das Deutsche Historische Institut in Paris (DHI Paris), das Orient-Institut Beirut (OI Beirut), das Deutsche Historische Institut in London (DHI London), das Deutsche Historische Institut in Washington (DHI Washington), das Deutsche Institut für Japanstudien in Tokio (DIJ Tokyo) und das Deutsche Historische Institut in Warschau (DHI Warschau) gegründet. 2002 wurden sie in einer Stiftung zusammengefasst, die als weitere Institute das Deutsche Historische Institut in Moskau  (DHI Moskau), das Deutsche Forum für Kunstgeschichte in Paris (DFK Paris), das Orient-Institut Istanbul (OI Istanbul) und das Max Weber Forum für Südasienstudien Delhi (MWF Delhi) eröffnete. Seit dem 1. Juli 2012 trägt die Stiftung den Namen Max Webers, der in der weltweiten Scientific Community für einen die Grenzen von Fächern und Disziplinen, von Kulturen und Epochen übergreifenden Ansatz steht.

Die Institute weisen jeweils eigene Forschungsschwerpunkte auf, die maßgeblich von den jeweiligen Direktorinnen und Direktoren sowie Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern geprägt sind, zu denen aber auch wissenschaftliche Langzeitvorhaben gehören. Für ihre Leitung beruft die MWS auf Zeit renommierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, in der Regel Professorinnen und Professoren deutscher Universitäten. Die Institute arbeiten eng mit ihren Wissenschaftlichen Beiräten zusammen, die die Leitung, die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Institute sowie den Stiftungsrat der MWS beraten. Entscheidungsorgan ist der Stiftungsrat, der sich aus dem Präsidenten/der Präsidentin, acht weiteren ausgewiesenen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern sowie zwei Bundesvertretern/-innen zusammensetzt.

 

Was uns wichtig ist


Forschung und wissenschaftlicher Austausch

In unseren Instituten wird Grundlagenforschung, zeitlich befristete Projektforschung sowie Einzelforschung betrieben. Mit Schwerpunkten in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften bieten unsere Institute Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern vielfältige Möglichkeiten, in einem internationalen und -disziplinären sowie anregenden Umfeld eigene Fragen zu entwickeln und ihre Forschungen durchzuführen. Die Institute forschen in einem engen und intensiven Austausch mit den Wissenschaftskulturen ihrer Gastgeberländer, wirken als Mittler zwischen der deutschen Forschungslandschaft und dem Ausland und üben dort zugleich eine repräsentative Funktion aus. Als außeruniversitäre und auf Dauer angelegte Foren internationaler Wissenschaft ermöglichen unsere Institute Forschung, die im Inland nicht durchgeführt werden kann. Sie öffnen den Zugang zu Quellen- und Datenbeständen vor Ort und wirken mit bei deren Erschließung und Sicherung für die grenzüberschreitende Forschung.

Wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs

Die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses besitzt für uns einen hohen Stellenwert. Die MWS bietet ein breites Spektrum von Fördermöglichkeiten: neben befristeten und unbefristeten Stellen verschiedene Stipendienprogramme, Praktikumsplätze sowie Formen des wissenschaftlichen Austausches wie Summer Schools und Seminare. Pro Jahr profitieren über 300 Studierende, Promovierende sowie Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden von den einzigartigen Möglichkeiten an unseren Standorten. Der Aufenthalt an einem Auslandsinstitut vermittelt den Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftlern besondere Qualifikationen für ihre Karrieren, im akademischen Bereich wie außerhalb der Forschung.

Forschungsinfrastrukturen

Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die an unseren Instituten tätig sind, sowie die zahlreichen ausländischen und deutschen Gäste finden hervorragende Rahmenbedingungen für ihre Forschungen vor. Dazu gehören neben administrativer und rechtlicher Unterstützung besonders die gut ausgestatteten Arbeitsplätze und die Bibliotheken der Institute, die Quellen und internationale Spezialliteratur bereitstellen. Eine wichtige Rolle spielen die Institute in der internationalen Forschungskommunikation durch die Organisation von Tagungen, Workshops und Seminaren. Zur Publikation ihrer Forschungen geben die Institute eigene Zeitschriften und Buchreihen heraus und publizieren ihre Forschungen zunehmend online. Dafür stellt die Stiftung die Publikationsplattform perspectivia.net zur Verfügung. Die Präsenz in sozialen Medien und die Einbindung in unterschiedliche disziplinäre und institutionelle Netzwerke verschafft den Forschungsaktivitäten im Rahmen der Stiftung weite Zugänglichkeit und Öffentlichkeit. Als öffentlich finanzierte Forschungseinrichtung sind wir den Prinzipien des Open Access verpflichtet.

 

Zukunft aus Traditionen

Die MWS will die herausragende Rolle ihrer Institute für die internationale Forschung insbesondere in folgenden Bereichen stärken:

  • Förderung und Durchführung innovativer (Grundlagen-)Forschung; 
  • Austausch und Entwicklung neuer methodologischer Fragestellungen;
  • Digitalisierung von Quellen und Datenbeständen der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Forschung und Entwicklung von Methoden zu ihrer Interpretation; 
  • Vernetzung der unterschiedlichen Wissenschaftskulturen;
  • Mitwirkung an Globalisierungsinitiativen der internationalen Forschung.