Support

As diverse as the ten research institutes abroad are, so too are the support opportunities of the Max Weber Foundation:

The institutes of the MWS regularly advertise positions for scientific staff ("Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter"). These temporary positions are so-called qualification positions, which usually serve to write a habilitation or a second book and thus enable the scientific staff to qualify for a professorship. With their own project, they are also integrated into the research profile of the institute and benefit from its excellent infrastructure, networks and events.

In addition, the MWS institutes offer German and foreign academics a series of research and sponsorship opportunities in the form of seminars, summer schools, internships, scholarships and prizes. On an annual basis they award an average of 110 scholarships comprising around 400 scholarship months for postgraduates as well as postdoctoral researchers.

Support to young academics already begins with advanced undergraduate students who can be placed on internships in academic studies, librarianship and administration. Internships are offered at all of the institutes abroad and in the Central Office in Bonn. Since 2007 students can apply for funding for a short period of residence at the Max Weber Foundation’s institutes abroad through the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD).

With the Gerald D. Feldman Travel Grant, the Max Weber Foundation offers support for young academics. The funding programme connects the countries and regions of the Max Weber Foundation's institutes by means of transregional research projects.

Förderung

So vielfältig wie ihre zehn ausländischen Forschungsinstitute sind auch die Fördermöglichkeiten der Max Weber Stiftung:

Regelmäßig schreiben die Institute der MWS Stellen für wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus. Diese befristeten Stellen sind sogenannte Qualifikationsstellen, die in der Regel dazu dienen, eine Habilitation oder ein zweites Buch zu schreiben und sich damit für den Ruf auf eine Professur zu qualifizieren. Mit dem eigenen Projekt ist man zugleich eingebunden in das Forschungsprofil des Instituts und profitiert von seiner exzellenten Infrastruktur, seinen Netzwerken und Veranstaltungsangeboten.

Darüber hinaus bieten die MWS-Institute deutschen und ausländischen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern eine Reihe von Forschungs- und Fördermöglichkeiten in Form von Seminaren, Sommerschulen, Praktika, Stipendien und Preisen. Sie vergeben jährlich durchschnittlich 110 Stipendien mit einem Umfang von rund 400 Stipendienmonaten für Doktoranden und Doktorandinnen sowie Postdocs.

Die Nachwuchsförderung beginnt bei fortgeschrittenen Studierenden, die Praktika in den Bereichen Wissenschaft, Bibliothekswesen und Verwaltung absolvieren können. Praktika werden von allen Auslandsinstituten sowie der gemeinsamen Geschäftsstelle in Bonn angeboten. Studierende können seit 2007 eine Finanzierung für Kurzaufenthalte an den Auslandsinstituten der Max Weber Stiftung über den Deutschen Akademischen Austausch Dienst (DAAD) beantragen.

Daneben bietet die Max Weber Stiftung mit den Gerald D. Feldman-Reisebeihilfen ein Förderprogramm für Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler, das die Länder und Regionen der Institute der Max Weber Stiftung anhand von transregionalen Forschungsprojekten miteinander verbindet.